h1

This will likely confuse you …

May 1, 2008

When I was a young lad, my father discovered that I was a fan of apocalyptic literature and pointed out a novel to me called “Earth Abides”. I read the book many times over the years and have always been fascinated by the depiction of the library in this novel (the author, George Stewart, was a faculty member at Berkeley, and wrote the library into the novel in a way that seems to be making some kind of statement). What has interested me is that the novel was written in 1949, yet it seems to have a message that is quite relevant today.  I’ve never managed to find any reference to any of this in the literature, although the novel is considered to be a classic. (of course, why would most people pay any attention to the presence of a library in a novel?) So, for ages I pecked away at an essay on the topic of the library in Earth Abides and what the heck George Stewart tells us (perhaps inadvertently).  For me, it’s an important topic … however, the essay doesn’t really seem to have a place anywhere in the library literature, and I just can’t be bothered to persist (I have the feeling that nobody but myself and my father (we’ve discussed this topic many times over drinks or meals) could possibly find this interesting).

So, I have put the essay on the internet to potentially be found some day like a message in a bottle by some random search. If it never gets read, I’ll just come back to it in a few years and see if it’s jibberish … so, it’s here.  Obviously, I’m bothering to tell you so I am making a bit of an effort, but that seems like about as little effort as I could possibly take to “publish” this thing. 

Having sent this around to a few places I have received responses that have varied from “I’m going to use this in my class, but it doesn’t fit in our journal” to “perhaps you could submit this as an opinion piece” … neither of these responses inspired me to continue (or to do anything, actually), and, more accurately, they caused me to roll my eyes. I wrote this for me … you can have it if you like.   

One comment

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.



Leave a Reply

