h1

September 20, 2012

The internet has a distinct lack of accountability.  People say remarkably stupid or cruel things and then disappear never to confront their victim again.  Having been riding this contraption for 20 years now (almost exactly) I have said some smart things, been slammed for them, and never had the chance to say “I told you so”.  I suppose the thing to say is :  On the internet, there is no “I told you so”.

Well, I like to say “I told you so” once in a while because I tend to think of communication with other people as … communication with other people.

So, in February of 2010 when the iPad was released, I wrote a piece right here about how this thing was going to take off and that one should be buying Apple stock right there and then.  Thing I was right about #1:  Apple stock that day was worth approximately $200/share, and today is worth close to $700/share.  I was right … very right. A lot of people told me I was wrong that day and that the iPad was a silly device that wasn’t a tablet, or a computer, or a laptop.  Somehow, this proved (to them) that there was no place for this device, and the world would just make fun of it. Oddly, these people apparently had never witnessed the birth of a new category even though they had already witnessed the advent of the the personal computer (also mocked), the laptop, the cell phone, the gaming console … etc.  I’m glad that I waited until now to say “I told you so” because the numbers at this point are truly staggering … Apple has sold 84 million iPads, and that is beyond what anyone could have imagined.

Love it or hate it, buying Apple stock would have been a very good idea in 2010, and it would seem that people have found a category for those 84 million iPads.  In fact, it eventually became so obvious that this category existed that other companies copied the device and are selling millions as well. I’m watching for the next big thing and think more often that Apple may now be too big (and without Steve Jobs) to continue to be the leader in creating categories (remember the smart phone and iPod?). I’d like to see an upstart come out of nowhere.

Memory on the internet is pretty much non-existent, and I don’t really recall ever having heard someone admit that they were wrong on an internet forum.  This one of the times, though, when I’m going to say “I told you so” … even if nobody is listening.

Leave a Reply

